Patsy Says

Most writers are not very good at being in the spotlight. This is why we have actors, and this is also why many people only have only a vague idea of what their favorite authors look like. But unfortunately, actors and writers do not get together nearly as much as they should.

Liars League is changing this by casting actors to read new local stories. Last Wednesday, I had the opportunity to hear my story “Patsy Says” performed aloud as an audience member. The event was held in the East Village at the KGB Bar, a surprisingly cozy place with the feel of a pub. There were beautiful people, lovely drinks, and some superb storytelling. I highly recommend this event to anyone in the city!

Elizabeth Murray did a fantastic job of reading my story, complete with a southern drawl and Patsy Cline’s sultry alto. It was amazing to be able to hear my writing being read by someone else — it gave me a whole new perspective on the story.

You can listen to her incredible reading of “Patsy Says” over on Liars League.

Leave a comment